lightsintheskye:

reapergrellsutcliff:

pridetothefall:

wolveswithhats:

eliciaforever:

Why do artists refuse to use references why why why.

It’s not a contest to see who can get by without them. It’s not cheating to look at a thing in order to know what the thing looks like.

You don’t get stronger or better by pretending. Nobody is impressed by the awkward whatever-it-is you just drew. Use references.

I don’t think a lot of people know that it’s not cheating. I recall seeing so many piece of art called out because they referenced a pose, someone recognized it, and then proceeded to shame them for it. There’s this belief, both by creators and the audience, that artists should just be able to translate the ideas from their head to paper, and if they don’t, it’s plagiarism, or not true originality (spoiler alert: there’s no such thing).

I myself didn’t start using references until very recently, because even I was under the impression that it was frowned upon. And that belief has seriously crippled and stalled my ability to improve as an artist.

As a restarting artist, I can confirm. I just never knew. I thought you were just supposed to know how to draw the body correctly and if you didn’t you had no talent.

(( I am going to say this again, loud and clear for everyone:

USING REFERENCES FOR ART IS NOT ‘CHEATING’!!!

If you can draw/paint without references, great!  But if you need to use them, and feel that your art can be bettered by using references, please, use them!  This is one of the biggest tips I can give to artists, is USE REFERENCES! 

Anyone who would dare to attack someone for using references after ‘recognizing a pose’ is a dipshit, who doesn’t know a thing about art.

Do you know who else used references for their art?

Norman Rockwell

image
image

Alphonse Mucha

image
image

Gustav Klimt

image

Toulouse Lautrec

image
image

Vincent Van Gogh

image

Paul Gauguin

image

Edgar Degas

image

Gil Elvgren

image
image

Frida Kahlo

image

Pablo Picasso

image

Disney Studios

image
image

And thousands of others!  So, artists! Go forth, and use references!!! ))

Reblogging as a constant reminder to my followers: You will never get better if you don’t use REFERENCES from life!! References are your friend I use them all the time and have nearly one terabyte for poses alone.

You can even use other artists work, it’s just a matter of respecting the artist. Just be very careful and ASK (if you can) before posting any art you made that directly references an artists work. If you cannot contact them, let people know or link to the reference you used. Do not claim the work is your own or let people assume it by not saying anything at all-that’s where the call out culture is. Emulating master works was REQUIRED for half my undergrad classes in painting- and my original work was so much better because I studied someone with more experience and knowledge of the craft.

Unless you have a very good grasp on your subject matter trying to draw everything from memory is just going to hinder and frustrate you.

Study the masters.

Study real life.

Practice. Practice. Practice.

Your work will thank you for it.

ladyshinga:

smalltownantifa:

savastasia:

queenofthefaces:

How are disabled and interracial illegal???

Interracial marriage was outlawed for the longest time, and disabled people lose government benefits when they get married so they cannot have reassurance that they will continue to LIVE if they get married.

I understand that not a lot of able-bodied people know about disabled people and their struggle with marriage fucking up their benefits, but how the FUCK do you not know that interracial marriage was illegal? Are you claiming because it’s legal NOW (not everywhere btw) (and even when it’s legal it’s still judged and families kick people out for it) that people shouldn’t STILL think about that shit? They should go “oh it’s legal now everyone shut up about the struggles that happened”( and, as I mentioned, STILL happen on a social level) like jfc bigotry doesn’t vanish overnight. The host of the Daily Show isn’t a very old adult human being and his being born was ILLEGAL because he’s a product of interracial love. Stop acting like this has no more effect in the world.

xoxo-chemical-carbonation:

infinite-void-of-random:

bumberhoot:

gerardwaeswae:

hi, welcome to the united fucking states, how may we discriminate you?

Everyone needs to see this. We can’t just let them discriminate against us, we have rights and we should fight for them. Our government is actively trying to push down minorities and no one is talking about it. This affects me and many of my friends. This could affect you or a friend you have. Even if this doesnt affect you, SPREAD THIS INFORMATION AND BE AN ALLY. We’re not gonna live in a broken country where freedom and equality is preached but only certain groups have those rights to equality and liberty. We shouldn’t have to live in fear of what human right our government is gonna strip away from us next. Please spread this.

You cannot define people out of existence, it’s literally impossible. Legally you can take away our rights, but you will NOT take away who we are. We will identify ourselves however we choose, and your fucked up ideals will never take that away.

Here’s the article link